Is 70,000 Words for a Sci-Fi novel enough...?

by Mykie Hall
15th April 2013

I would like to thank everyone who answered my first question. The answers were varied but all equally as helpful and I'm beginning to wish I found this website earlier on.

I have almost finished the first ruff draft book 1 of a two part novel. I'm a total novice but I was advised at the beginning that the hardest part about is writing novel is actually writing (who knew) and that I should just get stuck into it. So I've followed this advice without really doing any research into publishing best practice. Now that i'm closing in on completion I've been scratching my head a lot recently. I've ordered the writers year book which is on its way and i'm sure will help but I would like help with a few questions.

1. Is 70,000 words for part 1 of my Sci-Fi novel enough?

2. How many times should I edit my work?

3. My novel has 12 Characters in total but 6 main ones, is that too many?

4. At what point is it OK to start book 2

5. The story is based mainly in Japan should I think about sending my complete Manuscript/s to publishing houses there or is that a waste of time?

Replies

1. 70,000 is fine.

2. How long is a piece of string?

3. That with others that does sound like a lot for 70,000 words. Check your characters aren't 2D or simply there to advance the plot.

4. I believe the correct advice is to plan book two but perfect book one and start querying. I wrote five more books before finishing book one and querying so I'm not really the right person to ask.

5. I would exhaust all possibilities in your home country first.

Profile picture for user dividedheart
Victoria
Whithear
5200 points
Ready to publish
Fiction
Comic
Contemporary
Romance
Young Adult (YA)
Speculative Fiction
Short stories
Writing and Editing
Victoria Whithear
15/04/2013

The average novel contains 70,000 words.

I am not familiar with the Sci-fi genre, but Louise, has covered the other points you raised.